Mid-America Training Center is the Mid-South's premier training center. Our instructor staff consists of Certified Instructors, active and retired law enforcement officers, and renowned civilians.  They are carefully selected based on operational expertise, knowledge base, communication skills, and instructional effectiveness. MATC's instructors are specifically matched to the level of student experience. Each instructor has decades of experience and a passion for their field of expertise. Not only do we teach the Firearms courses, but also offer other courses such as Chemical Agent, Tactical Baton, Handcuffing and CPR/First Aid courses


Whether you are a first-time firearm user with the intent of protecting your home and family, recreational shooter, or seasoned professional, it’s our goal to make MATC more than a firearms training venue, but rather your firearms training destination. See our list of available courses below:

TN Handgun Carry Permit Course

TN Handgun Carry Permit
Course Fee: $80.00 - $95.00
*Save $15 by registering online using Coupon Code "MATC"
State Fees: $100 or $200 for LIFETIME

The state of Tennessee requires this class before filing an application for a handgun carry permit. The permit is required to legally carry a loaded handgun on your person. As a student enrolled in the Tennessee Handgun Carry Class you will learn about handgun nomenclature, function, operation, handgun safety, cleaning, storage, and the legal liabilities of carrying a handgun. You will also learn about carrying a handgun, ammunition malfunctions, and we will review loading and unloading, along with the fundamentals of handgun shooting. The state requires a passing score of 70% or higher on both the written and range test. The successful completion of this course will enable the student to file an application with the state for a Tennessee Handgun Carry Permit. Paperwork, workbooks, and ammunition are included in the tuition.

You will shoot at different distancesFirearm rentals are are available for an additional $15. You will shoot approximately 50 rounds of ammunition for the class.​

**Before you can attend class you must:

Register with the State of Tennessee at https://apps.tn.gov/handgun. Be sure you save the confirmation it is needed for the next steps.

MS Enhanced Firearms Permit Course

MS Enhanced Firearms Permit
Course Fee: $80.00 - $95.00
*Save $15 by registering online using Coupon Code "MATC"
State Fees: $112.00

In Mississippi, any legal resident that passes a background check can typically obtain a concealed carry permit. An “enhanced” endorsement to the normal carry permit has also been made available to otherwise qualified concealed carry permit applicants who have taken a training course from an authorized instructor. You can obtain the enhanced endorsement for an existing, valid, Mississippi concealed carry permit by submitting proof of class completion to the Mississippi Department of Public Safety Firearm Permit Unit at one of the listed firearms permit offices. If you do not currently have a Mississippi concealed carry permit, you can obtain the normal permit and the enhanced endorsement at the same time when you submit your application, including proof of completion of class completion. There is no extra fee or other paperwork required to obtain the enhanced status other than submitting proof of class completion. With the enhanced endorsement added to our permit you are able to legally carry your concealed pistol or revolver into many more locations in the state of Mississippi. The enhanced endorsement does not apply to any states that offer reciprocity for Mississippi concealed carry permit holders.


As required by the Mississippi Department of Public Safety, the one-day class will consist of classroom study and practical shooting exercises. Upon successful completion of this course, attendees will receive the certificate required to obtain the “IC” endorsement for their Mississippi state-issued firearms permit. All classroom materials are included in the registration cost. 

The student will shoot at different distancesFirearm rentals are are available for an additional $15. You will shoot approximately 50 rounds of ammunition for the class.

*Attending the MS Enhanced Carry Endorsement Class will not earn you a "MS Concealed Firearms Permit." The course only earns you the Endorsement to be placed on your permit. Firearms Permits must be applied for at your local "DPS" Department of Public Safety (where you obtain your Driver's License.) A background check must be processed before your Permit will be issued.  

Beginners & Private Shooting Lessons

Beginners Shooting Lessons
Course Fee: $50.00

This Course is designed for a First Time Shooter. This course is 1.5 hours long and covers the understanding of Safety First, understanding of how to handle a firearm, how to load and unload a firearm safely, teach them sight alignment, hand grip, teach them how to buy the right ammunition for their firearm.
You will shoot at different distances. Ammunition, target and range fees are NOT incuded in the class price. Firearm rentals are available for an additional $15. You will shoot approximately 50 rounds of ammunition for the class.
This class is by appointment ONLY!

TN Armed Security Officer Course

TN Armed Officer
Course Fee: $100.00
Combo: $150.00 (Get your Handgun Carry Permit & Armed Guard licence in the same 16 hour 2 day course)
AG - State Fees: $105.00 
Background Check: $32.65
HGP State Fees: $100.00 or $200 LIFETIME

These courses are required by the Tennessee Department of Commerce & Insurance to obtain an Unarmed or Armed Security Guard License. They cover the TN Private Protective Services Law and Rules book and follow the guidelines set forth by the state.

This course is for those that want an armed guard license. It is conducted over two days. Topics include orientation, legal powers and limitations of a security guard, emergency procedures, general duties, firearm handling, safety and maintenance, marksmanship training, legal limitations on the use of a firearm, patrolling, and more. There is a written test and firearm qualification on the range. Paperwork, workbooks, and ammunition are included in the tuition. This class includes unarmed guard training (4 hours).

**Fingerprints will be needed for background check. Visit https://tnibtfingerprint.com to set up your appointment for your electronic fingerprints or call (855) 226-2937. Fingerprint fees are $32.65 and payable via credit card online or via money order onsite at the fingerprint location.

TN Unarmed Security Officer Course

Unarmed Officer
Course Fee: $50.00
State Fees: $70.00

These courses are required by the Tennessee Department of Commerce & Insurance to obtain an Unarmed or Armed Security Guard License. They cover the TN Private Protective Services Law and Rules book and follow the guidelines set forth by the state.

An individual must complete the unarmed course before attending the armed guard course. However, if an individual only wants an unarmed guard license, this is the only course needed. Topics include orientation, legal powers and limitations of a security guard, emergency procedures, and general duties. Paperwork, and workbooks are included in the tuition.

**Fingerprints will be needed for background check. Visit https://tnibtfingerprint.com to set up your appointment for your electronic fingerprints or call (855) 226-2937. Fingerprint fees are $32.65 and payable via credit card online or via money order onsite at the fingerprint location.

TN Armed Security Officer Renewal Course

TN Armed Officer Renewal
Course Fee: $70.00
State Fees: $60.00

This course is for current armed guards who are nearing their license expiration date and need to re-certify. Training consists of a refresher on the topics covered in armed guard training. There is a written test and firearm qualification on the range. Paperwork, workbooks, and ammunition are provided.

Pepper Spray / Baton / Handcuffing / CPR / First Aid

Less Lethal
A written test is required on the use and liabilities for each weapon and a certification card will be issued after completion.

Course description:

Civilians: You may carry chemical spray and/or a Taser though training will better prepare you should you have to use it. In order to carry an impact weapon (baton) you must be certified.

Security Guards: The Tennessee Department of Commerce & Insurance states that with proper certification, an unarmed or armed security officer/guard may carry other types of weapons. Prior to carrying a baton, chemical spray, and/or stun gun a security guard must complete a minimum of four hours of training administered by a trainer who has been certified by the Commissioner in the proper use of that weapon and the liabilities associated with it.


Certifications:
Pepper Spray
Pepper Spray 1.5 hours $60
To be certified with this weapon each security guard will be sprayed with OC spray (optional for civilians)
Bring an old shirt, an old towel and a bottle of Johnson & Johnson Baby Shampoo

Baton
Baton 1.5 hours $60
Wear comfortable shoes and clothes (long pants)
Bring baton or night stick if available
A training baton will be provided for use during the class
Handcuffing
Handcuffing 1.5 hours $60
Handcuffing course that will teach students how to safely apply and remove handcuffs. This course will also teach students how to search suspects for weapons. The course is taught by a certified instructor and is an excellent course for new officers.
CPR
First Aid/CPR AED starting @ $60

Upon successful completion of the course, learners will receive a 2 year "CPR/AED for Professional Rescuers and Health Care Providers" certificate.

Course length: From 2 hours to 5 hours, depending on course option


Call regarding our combo discounts. Pick 2 for $100 or 3 for $150               *First Aid/CPR or AED is not elgible for combo deal.

PayPal Acceptance Mark